Skip to Content

IN honors New Market program

IN honors New Market program

January 28th:  The Indiana Department of Education has named New Market Elementary School as a recipient of the Indiana Gold Star School Counseling Award in 2017. Gold Star schools undergo a rigorous process to raise student achievement by creating local community advisory groups that review student data, set specific student goals, and commit to maximizing the time and skills of the school counselor. The official award presentation will be at the Indiana School Counselor Association fall conference in Indianapolis in November.

“Indiana’s Gold Star Schools collaborate with community partners to assist the school counselor in making data-based decisions to ensure that all students are successful,” said IDOE School Counselor Consultant Amanda Culhan. “We recognize New Market Elementary for understanding the tremendous impact that school counselors can have in helping students succeed in school and also to plan for postsecondary success.”

New Market joins just over 200 Indiana elementary, middle and high schools that have received the Gold Star Award since its inception in 2004. Six years later, IDOE, in collaboration with the Indiana Student Achievement Institute, began offering professional development opportunities for schools interested in aligning their counseling program with the Gold Star model. Schools participate in a one-day workshop, followed by a series of monthly webcasts, to help them make the transformation to the Indiana Gold Star School Counseling model.

All Indiana Gold Star schools are eligible to receive the nation’s highest recognition — the American School Counselor Association’s Recognized ASCA Model Program or RAMP Award. The award demonstrates that a school is “committed to delivering a comprehensive, data-driven school counseling program.” Indiana is the state with the highest number of RAMP Award recipients in the country.

To qualify for both awards, New Market Elementary submitted an online portfolio with documentation that it meets the nine program standards found in Indiana’s Program Standards for School Counseling.

Additionally, Sara Burkhart, Chris Larson, Denise Haulk, Curtis McVay and Lorraine Waling participated in training sessions during the school year and learned how to implement the counseling model. Students, teachers, parents and community members who serve on the local School Counseling Advisory Council also took part in the initiative. This group provided valuable input and feedback as the school counseling initiative was being developed.

Members of the council include: Karen Branch, Kat Burkhart, Bob Coudret, Adam Cox, Gina Haile, Nick Hedrick, Geoff Knowles, Jeff Korhorn, Andrea McArthur, Monica Nagele, Tim Pearson, Stephanie Rose, Bryan Snook, Stella Snook, George Spencer and Jennifer Watson.

“The school counselor and others at New Market Elementary School have worked hard to ensure that students have an accountable school counseling program that meets their academic, career, and social/emotional development needs,” Sue Reynolds, President of the American Student Achievement Institute said. “These educators and community members are truly dedicated to the community’s young people and are going the extra mile to help students succeed.”

For more information about the local initiative, contact Sara Burkhart at 765-866-0740.